Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use this guide to help you find links to some of the best sources for shared open access educational content, such as lectures, images, videos, and open textbooks.
image: nokhoog_buchachon / FreeDigitalPhotos.net
Some Quick Definitions
What is an Open Textbook?
Open textbooks are textbooks released under a Creative Commons, or similar, license. They are often written and published by faculty, with the support of universities or new commercial companies. This new model enables free online access to textbooks. For a good overview, see Educause's 7 Things You Should Know About Open Textbook Publishing (pdf)
What is a Learning Object Repository?
A Learning Object Repository is an online storage location/digital library of learning objects (or links to learning objects). The learniing objects ( modules, videos, images, books) are intended to be freely shared, adapted, or reused. Many Learning Object Repositories include open textbooks
What Is Open Education?
Open education involves expanding educational opportunities by encouraging the open sharing and recombination of educational resources. Institutions and individuals are increasingly sharing open digital learning and teaching resources over the internet without cost.
Selected Open Textbook Sources / Learning Object Repositories
University of Kansas Collaborative Digital Spanish Project (Acceso) is an open-access, digital learning environment designed to promote the acquisition of Spanish and the development of cultural understanding. Click on "Instructor Resources" to find out how to access unit-level assignments, daily lesson plans, student handouts, detailed writing activities and participation rubrics
Affordable Learning Georgia - Textbooks
A University System of Georgia (USG) initiative to promote student success by linking to affordable textbook alternatives
OpenStax is a nonprofit educational initiative based at Rice University. OpenStax textbooks are developed and peer-reviewed by educators,
DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books
Directory of Open Access Books is a joint service of OAPEN, OpenEdition, CNRS and Aix-Marseille Université. The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB.
Searchable learning object repository of peer-reviewed online teaching and learning materials; includes some open textbooks
Searchable open access repository
Open Textbook Library
University of Minnesota’s College of Education and Human Development has created this catalog of open textbooks, created by faculty at various colleges and universities
Open Textbook Store
Quality textbooks issued under open licenses that allow for printing.
Open SUNY Textbooks is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants.
Orange Grove Repository
The Orange Grove Repository is Florida's digital repository for instructional resources. The repository provides an environment for educators to search for, use, remix, share, and contribute educational resources
Student-run site dedicated to increasing the use of free educational materials by teachers and professors. Find links and reviews of textbooks and select educational resources, as well as free textbook links
Includes open-content textbooks
You can use this platform to:start an open textbook project, give and receive guidance on publishing open textbooks post and respond to calls for contributors, and connect with global communities that are changing the world through open education. The Rebus Community is an initiative of the Rebus Foundation, a Canadian registered charity.
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS searches open content from many different sources.
OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.
California Open Online Library for Education (COOL4Ed), three California higher education Systems are working together to provide easy access to quality free and open textbooks that everyone and anyone can use for teaching and learning, Includes many resources; you can search Merlot through this as well..
Open Source Course Management Systems
Moodle is a Course Management System (CMS), also known as a Learning Management System (LMS) or a Virtual Learning Environment (VLE). It is a free web application that educators can use to create effective online learning sites.
Sakai is a community of academic institutions, commercial organizations and individuals who work together to develop a common Collaboration and Learning Environment (CLE). The Sakai CLE is a free, community source, educational software platform distributed under the Educational Community License (a type of open source license).
Free Textbooks Shaking Up Higher Education
Library | Find Library Resources | Hours and Locations | Ask Us/FAQs | Library Guides | About Us | Services