LibGuides: Vampire Literature and Film: Home

Welcome

Use this subject guide to help you find books and other research materials related to vampires.

Nosferatu (1922)

Related Guides

Literature
by Maureen Cropper Last Updated Jul 30, 2021 26 views this year
Writing Research Papers
by Maureen Cropper Last Updated Feb 12, 2022 51 views this year
Citation Guide
by Maureen Cropper Last Updated Nov 24, 2021 110 views this year
Evaluating Websites
by Maureen Cropper Last Updated Feb 8, 2022 31 views this year
A-Z Database List
by Maureen Cropper Last Updated Nov 24, 2021 0 views this year

Search Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a full-text, multi-disciplinary database. It is one of our more popular EBSCO databases. It contains many journal articles that you may find useful as sources for your research papers

How to Use this Guide

Information about vampires and the supernatural in literature and film can be found in this guide. A listing of selected vampire books and films we have at the BCTC Library can be found on the home page, as well as websites interest

Click on the tabs to find additional information, such as author web links, and more ebooks

Many thanks to Gerry Adair, Associate Professor of English, for suggesting some links for this guide. He teaches a genre course (ENG 231) on vampire literature at BCTC.

Selected Vampire Full-text eBooks (Ebook Central)

Websites of Interest

The Vampire Library
The Vampire Library is a resource for readers of vampire fiction, literature and non-fiction books. The site includes information about rare and out of print titles, self published works, and bestsellers.
Journal of Dracula Studies
archived articles, 1999-2009
Dracula between Hero and Vampire
This site is an encyclopedia dedicated to Count Dracula. Includes video clip section
Anne Rice - The Offiicial Website
Website of vampire lit author Anne Rice
The Dracula Society
Society that holds regular meetings and trips centered on Dracula other supernatural topics.
Creatures of the Night
Vampires, werewolves, & other demons (links listed at the Old Curiousity Shop)
Darkest Destruction
Contains some information on the historic and literary vampire and an entire section devoted to Edgar Allan Poe
Vampire Resource Page
vampire resources information page developed by Melinda Hayes, USC.
International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts (IAFA)
IAFA is an organization that promotes and recognizes achievement in the study of the fantastic It hosts an annual annual academic conference, the International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts (ICFA). IAFA also publishes the Journal of the Fantastic in the Arts, a peer-reviewed journal for scholarship within the field of the fantastic.

Selected Vampire Books at the BCTC Library

Twilight and Philosophy: Vampires, Vegetarians, and the Pursuit of Immortality
Bluegrass CTC - Cooper Campus Stacks Call Number: PS3613. E979. Z89 2009

The Vampire Book: The Encyclopedia of the Undead
Bluegrass CTC - Ebook Central

Blood & Roses: The Vampire in 19th Century Literature
Bluegrass CTC - Cooper Campus Stacks Call Number: PN6071. V3 B48 1992

The Penguin Book of Vampire Stories
Bluegrass CTC - Cooper Campus Stacks Call Number: PS648.V35 V3 1988

Draculas, Vampires, and Other Undead Forms: Essays on Gender, Race, and Culture

Bluegrass CTC -Newtown Learning Commons Call Number: PN1995.9.D64 D735 2009

Bram Stoker: A Biography of the Author of Dracula
Bluegrass CTC - Cooper Campus Stacks Call Number: PR6037.T617 Z57 1996

Prism of the Night: A Biography of Anne Rice

Bluegrass CTC - Cooper Campus Stacks Call Number: PS3568.I265.Z86 1992

The Vampire Encyclopedia

Bluegrass CTC - Cooper Campus Stacks Call Number: GR830.V3 B86 1993

Pandora : New Tales of the Vampires, by Anne Rice
Bluegrass CTC - Cooper Campus Stacks    Call Number: PS3568.I265 P36 1998b

The Tale of the Body Thief, by Anne Rice
Bluegrass CTC - Cooper Campus Stacks    Call Number: PS3568.I265 T34 1992

Interview with the Vampire, by Anne Rice
Bluegrass CTC - Cooper Campus Stacks    Call Number: PS3568.I265 I58 1996

Dead Until Dark, by Charlaine Harris

Bluegrass CTC - Cooper Popular Collection

(several other books in Harris' Southern Vampire Mysteries series are also available)

Cinematic Vampires: The Living Dead on Film and Television by John L. Flynn

Bluegrass CTC - Cooper Campus Stacks Call Number: PN1995.V3 F58 1992

Selected Vampire Films at the BCTC Library

Dracula, directed by Tod Browning (75th anniversary ed.)

Bluegrass CTC - Cooper Campus Audiovisuals Call Number: PR6037.T617 D72 2006

Dracula's Daughter, directed by Lambert Hillyer

Bluegrass CTC - Cooper Campus Audiovisuals Call Number: PN1997 .D7344 1992

Interview with the Vampire, directed by Neil Jordan

Bluegrass CTC - Cooper Campus Audiovisuals Call Number: PS3568.I265 I572 2000

Nosferatu (1922) Trailer

Subject Guide

Maureen Cropper

Email Me

Contact:

Electronic Resources Librarian / Professor
BCTC - Leestown Campus
Lexington, KY 40511

Vampire Literature and Film: Home