LibGuides: Nursing: Home

Welcome

LIBRARY RESOURCE GUIDE
Nursing

stethoscope

Library guides are designed to familiarize you with library resources available for given disciplines and and subjects.

For information on the BCTC Nursing program, please visit their information page by following this link.

Medical Terminology

Medical Terminology : Active Learning Through Case Studies by Joan-Beth Gow, Arne Christensen
ISBN: 9781284210675

Publication Date: 2023

Considers medical words in terms of common combining forms, prefixes, and suffixes to determine meaning in context.

Suggested Databases for Nursing

Nursing & Health Care

CINAHL with Full Text
CINAHL is the electronic equivalent to the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature print index. The database lists citations with summaries to articles published in several thousand English-language nursing and allied health journals. CINAHL with Full Text also provides full text to hundreds of journals indexed by CINAHL, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records,research instruments and clinical trials.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides access to over 500 scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with a strong focus on nursing and allied health.
MEDLINE

Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.

Multidisciplinary Resources

Ebook Central - Nursing Section
Search for full-text books in the nursing and health section of Ebook Central / Ebrary (electronic books)
Academic Search Complete
Access many nursing-related journals in this multidisciplinary database

Academic OneFile
Contains many nursing full-text journals in this multidisciplinary database

NCLEX Test Preparation

Learning Express Library
Register at the site for your free personalized account. Search for NCLEX-RN or NCLEX-PN for practice exams and review materials. Organized into targeted learning centers, Learning Express Library supports those looking to improve core academic skills, prepare for tests, and much more.

BCTC Nursing Division Website

BCTC Nursing

CINAHL with Full Text - Advanced Searching Tutorial

A tutorial to help you learn how to use the advanced search function of the CINAHL with Full Text database.

Featured eBook

Featured eBook

Antimicrobial Activity of Nanoparticles by Grégory Guisbiers (Editor)
ISBN: 9780128216385

Publication Date: 2022-08-30

Available Online

Browse the Shelves

To browse the shelves in the Health Sciences, try these classification areas:

R	General Medicine
RA	Public Health
RC	Internal Medicine
RD	Surgery
RG	Gynecology & Obstetrics
RJ	Pediatrics
RK	Dentistry
RM	Pharmacology
RT	Nursing

NCLEX Review Books

Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination (9th Edition) by Linda Anne Silvestri; Angela Silvestri
ISBN: 9780323795302

Publication Date: 2022-10-11

(RN) Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination reviews all nursing content areas related to the current test plan.
HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination (7th Edition) by HESI
ISBN: 9780323831932

Publication Date: 2023-01-26

(RN) HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination, 7th Edition provides a complete, all-in-one review of the information that you need to know.
2024-2025 Saunders Clinical Judgment and Test-Taking Strategies (8th Edition) by Angela Silvestri; Linda Anne Silvestri
ISBN: 9780323874250

Publication Date: 2023-08-16

2024-2025 Saunders Clinical Judgment and Test-Taking Strategies: Passing Nursing School and the NCLEX® Exam, 8th Edition provides tools to help you overcome test anxiety, develop strong study skills, and improve test scores.
Developing Clinical Judgment for Professional Nursing Practice and NGN Readiness (2nd Edition) by Donna D. Ignatavicius
ISBN: 9780323935388

Publication Date: 2024-06-07

(RN) Developing Clinical Judgment for Professional Nursing Practice and NGN Readiness, 2nd Edition provides practical thinking exercises and case studies to help you build clinical judgment skills and make safe clinical decisions.
Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing Success (5th Edition) by Catherine Melfi Curtis; Audra Baker Fegley
ISBN: 9781719649742

Publication Date: 2024-10-07

(RN) Assure your mastery of psychiatric mental health nursing knowledge while honing your critical-thinking, clinical judgment, and test-taking skills.
Med-Surg Success (5th Edition) by Christi D. Doherty
ISBN: 9781719649735

Publication Date: 2024-10-07

(RN) Assure your mastery of medical-surgical nursing knowledge while honing your critical-thinking and test-taking skills.
Saunders Q and a Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination (9th Edition) by Linda Anne Silvestri; Angela Silvestri
ISBN: 9780323930574

Publication Date: 2023-10-19

(RN) To help you unpack the complexities of the NCLEX exam, each question includes rationales for correct and incorrect answers, a test-taking strategy, clinical judgment situations, priority nursing tips, and a Health Problem code allowing you to select questions by medical diagnosis.
Illustrated Study Guide for the NCLEX-PN® Exam (10th Edition) by JoAnn Zerwekh
ISBN: 9780443110351

Publication Date: 2024-03-27

(PN) The Illustrated Study Guide for the NCLEX-PN® Exam, 10th Edition uses colorful drawings and mnemonic cartoons to bring difficult concepts to life and help you recall the content you need to know to excel on the NCLEX-PN examination.
Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-PN® Examination (9th Edition) by Linda Anne Silvestri; Angela Silvestri
ISBN: 9780443112874

Publication Date: 2024-04-16

(PN) The book includes a review of all nursing content areas, more than 4,600 questions for the NCLEX, detailed rationales, test-taking tips and strategies, and questions for the Next-Generation NCLEX (NGN).