LibGuides: Journalism & Mass Media : Home

Welcome

Use this subject guide to help you find resources related to journalism & mass media

Suggested Databases for Journalism and Mass Media

Ebook Central
Search for full-text books in Ebook Central (electronic books)

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 80 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete contains indexing for more than 13,700 publications, with full text for more than 7,800 of those titles. PDF back files dating as far back as 1887 are available for some journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 titles.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier provides full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

Browse the Shelves

To browse the shelves, you may want to try these call numbers:

HE 7601 - 9271	broadcasting & telecommunications industry
HF 5801 - 6191	advertising
P 85 - 96	general communications & mass media
PN 1990 - 1992	radio & television
PN 4699 - 5650	journalism & the press

NPR's Scott Simon: How to Tell a Story

NPR's Scott Simon gives story writing advice, tips, and encouragement to journalists in this interesting video. This video is part of the YouTube Reporters' Center, which has many more videos about news reporting: http://www.youtube.com/reporterscenter

Journalism & Mass Media at BCTC

Journalism and mass media courses offered at BCTC:

JOU 101 Introduction to Journalism (3)
This course surveys the history and social theories of journalism and introduces students to contemporary journalistic practice. Student will learn about the function and operation of print, electronic and on-line news media. Issues and concepts to be covered include the relationship of government to media; press freedom and controls; media ethics, and the impact of global communications. The course also covers the relationship of journalism to advertising, public relations and telecommunications, particularly with regard to new technologies.

JOU 204 Writing for the Mass Media (3)
An introduction to the concepts and techniques of media writing. This course offers hands-on instruction in information gathering, organization, and writing for print, broadcast and on-line media. Prerequisites: JOU pre-major status; JOU 101 or consent of instructor.

COM 249 Mass Media and Mass Culture (3)
Examines the interplay between the technology and content of the mass communications media and culture. Prerequisite: COM 101 or SOC 101.

Journalism Pathways
Learn more about pathways to an advanced degree in journalism

Poll

What is your favorite source for getting news?

Poll

Television: 12 votes (31.58%)

Online Newspapers: 17 votes (44.74%)

Print Newspapers: 2 votes (5.26%)

News Feeds: 2 votes (5.26%)

Radio: 0 votes (0%)

Blogs: 3 votes (7.89%)

Twitter: 2 votes (5.26%)

Total Votes: 38

Subject Guide

Bluegrass Library

Email Me

Contact:

859-246-6713 (Newtown)

859-246-6380 (Leestown)

New York Times News Feed

Latest news from the front page of the NYT