Home - BIO 151 - Resources (Chelvarajan) - LibGuides at Bluegrass Community & Technical College

BIO 151 Lab - Research Resources

Image: Erin Rod, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

For Lakshman Chelvarajan's BIO 151 lab class

Position Paper: Is the Use of Genomic Editing valid and Ethical? -- Ethics Journals

American Journal of Bioethics
This journal may be especially useful for researching ethical aspects of biology, including genetics. The American Journal of Bioethics publishes research on social implications of clinical research, access to health services, and medical records and data.

BMC Medical Ethics
Provides research articles in relation to the ethical aspects of biomedical research and clinical practice, including professional choices and conduct

Other Biology Journals that may be of use for your project

American Journal of Human Genetics
American Society of Human Genetics journal. Journal articles related to heredity in humans and to the application of genetic principles in medicine and public policy, as well as in related areas of molecular and cell biology.Available via PubMedCentral
Human Gene Therapy
Covers all aspects of human gene therapy. Features scientific papers on original investigations into the transfer and expression of genes in mammals, including humans
Stem Cells and Cloning : Advances and Applications
This is an international, peer-reviewed, open access journal that publishes original research, reviews, hypothesis formation, commentaries, technology reviews and short reports in established and emerging concepts in stem cell research.
Animal Cells & Systems
Publishes original papers that cover diverse aspects of biological sciences including Systematics and Evolution, Ecology and Behavior, Physiology, Biochemistry and Biophysics, Developmental Biology, and more.
Briefings in Functional Genomics
Briefings in Functional Genomics is an international forum reviewing the use, development and exploitation of functional genomic approaches in all areas of biological research. The journal provides a centralised resource for researchers in the field of functional genomics as well as guidance to scientists new to the area.
Cell and Tissue Research
Provides information on molecular, cell, and supracellular biology, the supracellular, integrative actions of gene products and their impact on the formation of tissue structure and function
Journal of Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology
JGEB is an international journal, which publishes original research articles, short communications and reviews in different fields of genetic engineering and biotechnology. The journal publishes articles in the fields of plant biotechnology, animal biotechnology, microbial biotechnology, industrial biotechnology, medical biotechnology, genomics, proteomics and bioinformatics.
Cell Communication & Adhesion
Covers all aspects of receptor-based cell recognition and signaling
Cellular Oncology
Contains scientific research of the intersection of microbial on host-cell biology.
Journal of Cell Science
Journal of Cell Science (JCS) is an international peer-reviewed journal in the field of cell biology. Available via PubMed Central.
Nature
Research articles related to biology and nature
Molecular Biology of the Cell
Published by the American Society of Cell Biology. Articles of interest and significance within all areas of cell biology, genetics, and developmental biology. Available via PubMed Central.

Databases

Academic Search Complete
Contains many biology-related journals
Health and Medicine
Provides access to several biology-related journals

Books on Genetics and Ethics

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find more eBooks at the library, using Ebook Central

Hot Topics / Contemporary Issues Databases

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

PubMed Central

PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central (PMC) is a digital collection of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM), and includes more than a million articles. PMC serves as a digital counterpart to NLM’s extensive print journal collection. PMC was developed and is managed by NLM’s National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Keywords - Genetic Ethics

adult stem cells

gene therapy for genetic disorders

genetically modified food

genetically modified animals

cloning

genetic privacy

DNA fingerprinting

prenatal diagnosis

mandatory genetic testing

transgenic plants

pharmacogenetic

Human Genome Project

genetic carriers

nuclear reprogramming

sex determination

genetic counseling

genetic discrimination

genetic identity

genetic engineering

recombinant DNA biohazards

CRISPR

eugenics

forensic genetics

sample cellular /molecular biology keyword searches

genetic engineering and sheep
liver cancer cell
genetically modified food
plant growth cell
human genome
stem cells and Alzheimer's disease
transgenic plants and animals
gene mapping
cell immunology
telomere length
cellular respiration

Primo Search

Research Help

Research Help

Come to the BCTC Library if you would like additional research assistance. You can also contact us using our

Ask Us service.

We will be happy to help you!

BCTC Tutoring

BCTC Tutoring
Did you know BCTC offers students free tutoring in a number of subjects, including Biology, and writing help? Check out the tutoring page for more information.

Related LibGuides

Citation Guide
by Maureen Cropper Last Updated Jan 10, 2024 57 views this year
Writing Research Papers
by Maureen Cropper Last Updated Feb 24, 2024 55 views this year
Primo Discovery Search: Discover Books, Journal Articles, and More
by Maureen Cropper Last Updated Jan 11, 2024 306 views this year

A-Z Databases

A-Z Database List
Explore our library databases

Subject Guide

Maureen Cropper

Email Me

Contact:

Librarian / Professor
BCTC - Lexington, KY