LibGuides: Copyright for Educators: Video

Videos

A variety of people and organizations have produced video to help interpret or understand copyright law and fair use in education or to express their viewpoints on the topic. Links to a selection of those videos can be found on this page.

What about using video in the classroom?

ALA Fact Sheet #7 - Video and Copyright
Good resource for explaining acceptable classroom use of videos/DVDs
Using your personal Netflix account in the classroom is NOT recommended, as it may be illegal
any faculty use of personal Netflix accounts/streaming in the classroom is likely not legal, according to the Albany Law Review.Your personal Netflix account gives you only a limited, personal and nontransferable license, a licensing agreement which supersedes any exceptions in copyright law
more...less...
Source: Ezor, J.I. (2013) Streaming while teaching: the legality of using personal streaming video accounts for the classroom. Albany Law Journal, 23, 221-236.

A Fair(y) Use Tale

Professor Eric Faden of Bucknell University made this creative overview of copyright and fair use. http://cyberlaw.stanford.edu/documentary-film-program/film/a-fair-y-use-tale

User Rights, Section 107 Music Video

Music video about copyright and fair use, from the Media Education Lab at Temple University http://mediaeducationlab.com/.

CIS Fair Use Legal Experts Answer Fair Use Questions - Stanford Center for Internet and Society

Stanford Center for Internet and Society

Anthony Falzone, Executive Director of the Fair Use Project, and Julie Ahrens, Associate Director of the Fair Use Project , answer questions about Fair Use

http://cyberlaw.stanford.edu/node/6666

Streamiing Video BCTC Libraries

The library subscribes to some streaming video and film options. In most cases, our licensing permissions allow for instructors to include links to these items within their courses for educational purposes, provided access to materials is only made available to students, staff, and faculty of the college.. If you have questions related to our subscriptions, please reach out to our electronic resources librarian, Maureen Cropper.

FOD: Master Academic Video Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand is a streaming video database containing outstanding educational programs. Many programs from the History Channel, Biography Channel, BBC, PBS are included in this collection.
FOD: Archival Films & Newsreels Video Collection
- This link opens in a new window
This collection includes archival and historical films from numerous sources, such as items selected from the WPA Film Library, the Prelinger Archives, the United Newsreel collection (the series of newsreels produced by the U.S. Office of War Information during World War II), Universal Studios Newsreel collection, and recordings from the National Archives and Records Administration of historic speeches and events
FOD: World Cinema Video Collection
- This link opens in a new window
The World Cinema Video Collection includes online streaming films from Africa, America, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Middle East--films from the silent era, from the mid-20th century, as well as award-winning contemporary works.