This is the "Home" page of the "Sociology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Resources for Sociology
Last Updated: Nov 10, 2014 URL: http://bluegrass.libguides.com/sociology Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Use this subject guide to help you find resources related to sociology.

people of the world

Image: xedos4 / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

 

Library Catalog

Search for books in the KCTCS Library Catalog


 

 

 

Browse the Shelves

To browse the shelves for Sociology books, try these call numbers:

HM General & Theoretical Sociology
HN Social History & Conditions; Social Problems & Reform
HQ Marriage & the Family; Sexual Life; Age Groups; Women & Feminism
HS Secret & Other Societies, Associations, and Clubs 
HT Urban & Rural Sociology; Social Classes; Race Relations 
HV Social Work, Charities, & Public Welfare; Social Pathologies; Criminology
HX Socialism & Communism; Utopias; Anarchism

 

Sometimes, the application of the field of Sociology to another subject means you can also find sociology books on the shelf in sections related to that other subject ( for example, books on the sociology of religion might also be found in section BL and the sociology of medicine in RA. )


Materials closely related to Sociology can be found in sections BF (psychology), GN (anthropology), HA (statistics), HB (demography), P (communication and linguistics, including sociolinguistics).

Suggested Databases for Sociology

  • Sociological Collection
    This database provides coverage of more than 500 full text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. Sociological Collection offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
  • Ebrary - Sociology Section
    Search for full-text books in the sociology section of Ebrary (electronic books)
  • JSTOR
    This database ontains many useful journals, including over 100 journals in the Sociology category.
  • Academic Search Complete
    This multi-disciplinary database contains many sociological journals.
  • Oxford Reference Online - Social Sciences Section
    Several full-text reference books useful to sociology can be found here, such as a dictionary of Sociology and a guide to countries of the world.
 

Free Rice

Play Freerice and feed the hungry

Try playing Free Rice.  Free Rice is a free, fun vocabulary game. For each answer you get right, Free Rice donates 10 grains of rice through the World Food Programme to help end world hunger.

 

The Global Sociology Blog

The Global Sociology Blog (SocProf) / CC BY-NC-SA 3.0
Loading Loading...
blank padding

Related LibGuides

My Profile

Profile Image
Maureen Cropper
Contact Info
Electronic Resources Librarian /
Professor
BCTC - Leestown Campus
Lexington, KY 40511
Send Email

BCTC Sociology Website

Related Guides

A-Z Database List
by Maureen Cropper - Last Updated Jul 24, 2017
BCTC Databases listed alphabetically by title
685 views this year
Citation Guide
by Maureen Cropper - Last Updated Jan 8, 2016
Useful information about citation formats for research papers
16 views this year
Writing Research Papers
by Maureen Cropper - Last Updated Jul 19, 2017
Resources to help students interested in writing research papers
36 views this year
Sociology 101
by Maureen Cropper - Last Updated Nov 17, 2015
Global sociology assignment
5 views this year
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip