This is the "Home" page of the "Native American Heritage Month" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Native American Heritage Month   Tags: indian, native american  

Celebrate Native American Heritage Month with selected resources from the BCTC Learning Resource Center.
Last Updated: Nov 9, 2016 URL: http://bluegrass.libguides.com/nativeamericanheritage Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Celebrate Native American Heritage Month!

 

Welcome

Celebrate Native American Heritage Month (November) with selected resources from the BCTC Learning Resource Center.

 

Library Catalog

Search for books in the KCTCS Library Catalog


Selected Native American Heritage Books

This is just a sampling of items that we have.  Check out our catalog or visit the library to find more books on this topic! 

Selected Native American Audio-Visual Resources

This is just a sampling of items that we have.  Check out our catalog or visit the library to find more audio-visual on this topic!

Websites of Interest

http://www.nativeculture.com/lisamitten/indians.html  This site provides links to Native American Nations homepages and organizations.

 

http://www.hanksville.org/NAresources/  Provides an index to Native American Resources on the Internet.

 

http://www.niea.org/  Official website of the National Indian Education Association.

 

http://www.nmai.si.edu/  National Museum of the American Indian website.

 

http://www.ipl.org/div/natam/  Internet Public Library-Native American Authors.

 

http://www.csusm.edu/nadp/  Native American Documents Project.

 

http://bancroft.berkeley.edu/Exhibits/nativeamericans/  Images of Native Americans at the Bancroft Library, UC Berkley.

 

http://www.shadowwolf.org/native_american_herbal_remedies.html  Native American Herbal Remedies.

 

http://www.powwows.com/  Information on Pow Wows throughout the country.

 

http://americanindian.net/#Dates  Commercial site, but interesting because you can search by date to find significant events in Native American history for a particular day.

 

http://www.native-languages.org/  A site dedicated to preserving and protecting Native American Languages.

 

http://avalon.law.yale.edu/subject_menus/ntreaty.asp  The Avalon Project at Yale Law School.  Treaties between the United States and Native Americans.

 

http://www.indians.org/welker/americas.htm  Indigenous Languages.

 

http://staff.lib.muohio.edu/nawpa/  Native American Women Playwrights Archive.

 

http://www.nativeamericanlinks.com/  Native American Images.

 

http://users.ap.net/~chenae/natlink.html  Native American Links.

 

http://www.scils.rutgers.edu/~kvander/ChildrenLit/native.html  Provides a Children’s Literature Bibliography. 

 

http://www.afn.org/~native/orgnztns.htm  Provides a listing of Native American Organizations with contact information.

 

http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/earlyamericas/  The Jay I. Kislak Collection at the Library of Congress contains over 3000 rare maps, documents, paintings, and other artifacts that span hundreds of years. Recently, the Library of Congress created this very engaging online exhibition in order to provide the general public with access to a selection of these documents.

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • American Indians in Children's Literature
    Established in 2006, American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL) provides critical perspectives and analysis of indigenous peoples in children's and young adult books, the school curriculum, popular culture, and society. Scroll down for links to book reviews, Native media, and more.

Questions?

Profile Image
Terry Buckner
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip