Home - BIO 151 Lab - Research Resources - LibGuides at Bluegrass Community & Technical College

BIO 151 Lab - Research Resources

Image courtesy of renjith Krishnan FreeDigitalPhotos.net

For Larry Porter's BIO 151 lab class

Suggested Databases

Academic Search Complete
Contains many biology-related journals
Health and Medicine
Provides access to several biology-related journals

Biology Journals to Browse

Nature
Research articles related to biology and nature
Journal of Cell Science
Journal of Cell Science (JCS) is an international peer-reviewed journal in the field of cell biology. Available via PubMed Central.
Cell Communication & Adhesion
Covers all aspects of receptor-based cell recognition and signaling
Cellular Oncology
Contains scientific research of the intersection of microbial on host-cell biology.
Briefings in Functional Genomics
Briefings in Functional Genomics is an international forum reviewing the use, development and exploitation of functional genomic approaches in all areas of biological research. The journal provides a centralised resource for researchers in the field of functional genomics as well as guidance to scientists new to the area.
Animal Cells & Systems
Publishes original papers that cover diverse aspects of biological sciences including Systematics and Evolution, Ecology and Behavior, Physiology, Biochemistry and Biophysics, Developmental Biology, and more.
Molecular Biology of the Cell
Published by the American Society of Cell Biology. Articles of interest and significance within all areas of cell biology, genetics, and developmental biology. Available via PubMed Central.
American Journal of Human Genetics
American Society of Human Genetics journal. Journal articles related to heredity in humans and to the application of genetic principles in medicine and public policy, as well as in related areas of molecular and cell biology.Available via PubMedCentral
Cell and Tissue Research
Provides information on molecular, cell, and supracellular biology, the supracellular, integrative actions of gene products and their impact on the formation of tissue structure and function

PubMed Central

PubMed Central
PubMed Central (PMC) is a digital archive of life sciences journal literature that includes more than a million articles. PMC also includes a growing number of final, peer-reviewed author manuscripts by scientists who receive research funding from NIH and other funding agencies. It is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).

sample keyword searches

genetic engineering and sheep
liver cancer cell
genetically modified food
plant growth cell
human genome
stem cells and Alzheimer's disease
transgenic plants and animals
gene mapping
cell immunology
telomere length
cellular respiration

sample subject terms for Academic Search Complete

cell research
cytology
cell adhesion
bacterial genetics

Research Help

Research Help

Come to the BCTC Library if you would like additional research assistance. You can also contact us using our

Ask Us form.

We will be happy to help you!

Primo Search

Related LibGuides

Citation Guide
by Maureen Cropper Last Updated Jan 10, 2024 57 views this year
Primo Discovery Search: Discover Books, Journal Articles, and More
by Maureen Cropper Last Updated Jan 11, 2024 304 views this year

BCTC Tutoring

BCTC Tutoring
Did you know BCTC offers students free tutoring in a number of subjects, including Biology, and writing help? Check out the tutoring page for more information.

Subject Guide

Maureen Cropper

Email Me

Contact:

Librarian / Professor
BCTC - Lexington, KY