Nursing

Accelerate Your Career in Nursing aids professional advancement by helping you strategically decide which degrees, specialties, or opportunities are right for you. Effective portfolio development and communication techniques are also included.

Antimicrobial Activity of Nanoparticles: Applications in Wound Healing and Infection Treatment presents the state of the art among nanotechnological approaches used in the treatment of infections. This field has gained a large amount of interest over the past few years, in response to the increasing resistance of pathogens to antibiotics.

An official publication of the Association of Women’s Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN), Perinatal Nursing presents up-to-date information based on the most rigorous evidence and offers suggestions for best practices.

A book that focuses on vulnerable populations and how nurses can care for them, develop programs for them, conduct research, and influence health policy.

This compact and sensibly organized guide is vital to providing optimal skin and wound care. It includes advice on skin care products, documentation regulations, and profiles of more than 300 products, in A to Z organization for easy identification.

What is nursing? What do nurses do? How do you define it?
The 3rd Edition of this AJN Book-of-the-Year Award-Winner helps you answer those questions with a unique approach to the scientific basis of nursing knowledge. Using conceptual models, grand theories, and middle-range theories as guidelines you will learn about the current state and future of nurse educators, nurse researchers, nurse administrators, and practicing nurses.

Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) is a respiratory illness that can spread from person to person. The virus that causes COVID-19 is a novel coronavirus that was first identified during an investigation into an outbreak in Wuhan, China. Chapters 1-16 contain information about the science behind the virus, economic implications, global response and public safety. Chapters 17 and 18 access the readiness of the United States Public Health System in response to emerging infectious diseases, pandemics and biological attacks

Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses contains information about medications; organized monographs for hundreds of generic drugs and thousands of trade-name drugs.

This nursing reference book is comprehensive and concise; entries provide relevant and current research perspectives and demonstrate the depth and breadth of nursing research

Provides a toolbox for understanding race and racism at structural, institutional, and individual levels. This nursing handbook introduces and defines key terms about race and racism for nurses, nursing students, and nurse educators.

Based on the premise that partnership is paramount for sustainable outcomes, the book demonstrates how nurses can build sustainable health programs that will improve health outcomes worldwide. Written by two highly experienced global nurses, the book offers expert guidance gained from many years of successful involvement in international collaboration that is supported by detailed real-life examples.

Part of the renowned Gray’s family of references, featuring outstanding full-color artwork praised for its utility and clarity, relevant and accurate content, with a strong clinical focus

Employers expect new graduates to be well-versed in evidence-based practice--its theory and its implementation. Begin with a concise introduction to evidence-based practice to gain a full perspective of what it is and why it's so important. Then draw upon must-have guidance and tools that will help you immediately apply what you've learned in both classroom and clinical settings. This practical, step-by-step approach develops the critical-thinking and decision-making skills you need to effectively apply and deliver effective patient care.

An important nursing resource since it was first published in 1974, the Lippincott Manual for Nursing Practice has provided essential nursing knowledge and up-to-date information on patient care for nearly 40 years. Now in its 10th edition, this full-color text is organized into five major parts, covering the Nursing Process and Practice; Medical-Surgical Nursing; Maternity & Neonatal Nursing; Pediatric Nursing; and Psychiatric Nursing.

Shows the numerous career paths available in nursing. Also, the history of nursing is discussed through biographies of nine remarkable male nurses, offering much needed historical role models.

This book provides the reader with a wide overview of the many roles within the nursing profession

This book provides the reader with a wide overview of the many vast roles within the nursing profession, showing that the responsibilities are complex, challenging and rewarding.

Content on more than 5,000 generic and brand-name drugs covers almost every drug you are likely to encounter in clinicals. Side effects information, logically organized by body system and identified as common or life threatening, shows you the important and intricate signs to watch for during assessments. This guide also includes complete pharmacokinetic tables that explain the mechanism and absorption of the drug as well as the action, duration, and excretion of the drug.

Clear, practical advice on both managing the transition from student to qualified nurse - including getting the most from your final placement and making applications - and practical advice on key areas encountered in the first weeks and months after qualification

A quick-reference tool to help plan patient care

This all-in-one resource provides the step-by-step guidance needed to develop individualized plans of care, while also honing nurse's critical thinking and analytical skills. Over 164 care plans reflect NANDA diagnoses and terminology.

Information for those interested in a career as a nurse. What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in the nursing field? How do you plan out your nursing career? This book can help you answer these questions and more.

The Oxford Handbook of Women's Health Nursing is a useful tool for helping practitioners assist women in making informed choices.

Practical Statistics for Nursing and Health Care introduces statistical techniques in such a way that readers will easily grasp the fundamentals to enable them to gain the confidence and understanding to perform their own analysis. It also provides advice in areas such as clinical trials and epidemiology to enable the reader to critically appraise work published in journals.

With essential information on more than 1,000 generic and 4,000 trade name drugs

Self-Care for Allied Health Professionals brings together a collection of self-care strategies into one easy-to-read volume, supporting Allied Health Professionals to do the best for their patients by caring for themselves.

This book describes how theory analysis models are used to examine various nursing phenomena as they relate to nursing research and professional practice, and provides key examples of how this is accomplished. It takes the reader through the process of using a theory to guide research from inception of a research question to evaluation of future research.

Unfolding case studies provide new information while you read, teaching you to think critically and apply what you learned in nursing school to real-life situations you'll face on the job.

How viruses emerge to cause pandemics, how our immune system combats them, and how diagnostic tests, vaccines, and antiviral therapies work